Maps and Regions
Communities of Labrador North
Hopedale is located on the northern Labrador coast, amongst the large bays that open up to the Labrador Sea. The population of the community is approximately 620, most of whom are beneficiaries of the Labrador Inuit Land Claim Agreement. The Inuit community of Hopedale is also the capital of the Nunatsiavut Government and was chosen to host the 2010 Olympic torch. One community torchbearer - Boas Mitsuk and one Elder firekeeper - Andrea Flowers were chosen to represent the Nunatsiavut Government.
With a population of approximately 380 people, the Inuit Community of Makkovik is located approximately 210 kilometres by air northeast of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador.
The town of Nain was established in 1771 by Moravian missionaries and today has a population of approximately 1,230 people. The northernmost municipality in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, Nain is approximately 230 air miles north of Happy Valley-Goose Bay.
Situated on the northern coast of Labrador 185 miles north of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Natuashish is only accessible by water or air. Natuashish is in close proximity to Utshimassits (Davis Inlet), the present community of the Mushuau Innu Band.
Postville began as a trading post and was originally called "The Post." The community of 250 people is located 25 - 30 km into the scenic interior of Kaipokok Bay, 110 air miles north-northeast of Goose Bay.
An Inuit community, Rigolet has a population of about 314 and was incorporated in 1977. It is located 160 km east of Happy Valley-Goose Bay at the entrance of Hamilton Inlet.

Website revised Nov 30, 2022 · Privacy Policy