Things to Know
Banking in Labrador
Banking services are available in the following communities:

  • Labrador City: CIBC, Scotiabank
  • Wabush: BMO Bank of Montreal
  • Churchill Falls: Scotia Bank
  • Happy Valley-Goose Bay: Eagle River Credit Union, RBC Royal Bank, Scotia Bank, BMO Bank of Montreal
  • Nain: BMO Bank of Montreal
  • Mary's Harbour: Eagle River Credit Union
  • L'Anse au Loup: Eagle River Credit Union

ATM availability is common within Labrador communities. Most businesses accept major credit cards and have Direct Payment machines.

The Canadian dollar is the currency of Newfoundland and Labrador. Many operators and retailers will accept American dollars, but not always at the official exchange rate.

Businesses do not accept other foreign currencies and there is no currency exchange house in the province. Even banks do not normally exchange foreign currencies. We recommend that you convert your national currency into Canadian dollars before you leave home.

Website revised Nov 30, 2022 · Privacy Policy